Chapter 4 - Key Terminology

This chapter contains only definitions - the most boring chapter I've ever read. Don't know even what to write. Quick read and test is passed (5 out of 6). Anyway, have to learn these definitions :(
Hope the next chapter will be more interesting.

Chapter 3 - Core Concepts (Part 2)

Today I have to understand what Enterprise Continuum (EC) is. First of all, EC is a view of Architecture Repository. EC should explain how the generic solution can be leveraged and managed in order to support the requirements of an particular organisation.

Architecture Repository stores different classes of architectural output at different level of abstraction. AR is consists of the following components:
  • Architecture Metamodel
  • Architecture Capability
  • Architecture Landscape
  • Standards Information Base (SIB)
  • Reference Library
  • Governance Log
Enterprise Architecture Capability (Architecture Capability Framework) - is a set of materials and guidelines. It consists of 7 parts (will not list them here) - OMG I have never seen the word "Architecture", "Capability" so many times on one page :).

Additional thing is enterprise architecture practice must be run like any other operational unit within a business.

The test is done. 6 out of 7 - made only one mistake - forgot that EC is a model for classifying artifacts. Looking forward for the next chapter.

Chapter 3 - Core Concepts (part 1)

I've already written that didn't have much time to read the TOGAF - last Friday was a deadline for the project, therefore I was spending for almost 10-11 hours at work. Finally, it is over, so I can continue the process.

Today is the third chapter. It contains a lot of information and I have to remember all of it. This is not a very easy process, so I decided to split this chapter to two part. This part contains information about ADM (including phases), Deliverables, Artifacts and Building Blocks.

ADM (Architecture Development Method) forms the core of TOGAF and provides the repeatable process for developing architecture. There are 10 phases in ADM.
  • Preliminary (Architecture Capability)
  • Phase A: Architecture Vision
  • Phase B: Business Architecture
  • Phase C: Information Systems Architecture (Data and Application)
  • Phase D: Technology Architecture
  • Phase E: Opportunity and Solutions (forming Target Architecture)
  • Phase F: Migration Planning (migration from Base to Target)
  • Phase G: Implementation Governance (architecture oversight of implementation)
  • Phase H: Architecture Change Management (managing change to the new architecture)
  • Requirements Management (examines the process)
Very difficult to remember, spatially G and H phases, but I will try :). The next section describes the structural model for ADM outputs (like requirements, plans etc.). The TOGAF Architecture Content Framework uses three category:
  • deliverable (signed off by stakeholders)
  • artifacts (aspects of architecture: matrices, catalogs, diagrams)
  • building blocks (reusable components)
That is all for today. Tomorrow, will have a look on the rest of chapter 3.

Yesterday - no progress on TOGAF

Unfortunately, could not write about the Chapter 3 yesterday - project deadline is coming, therefore was very busy in the office.

Chapter 2 - Basic Concepts

This chapter contains brief description about TOGAF. The key points are the following:

  1. What is TOGAF - The Open Group Architecture Framework. TOGAF is a tool. The key to TOGAF is the method - ADM (Architecture Development Method).
  2. Structure of TOGAF document (7 points):
    • Introduction
    • ADM
    • ADM Guidelines and Techniques
    • Architecture Content Framework (ABBs)
    • Enterprise Continuum and Tools
    • TOGAF Reference Models (TFM and III RM)
    • Architecture Capability Framework
  3. What is Enterprise, Architecture, Why do you need Enterprise Architecture (a lot of reasons) 
  4. Architecture Domains Supported by TOGAF
    • Business
    • Data
    • Application
    • Technology
Well, the test at the end was not very difficult, so I got 100% again, but the topic is quite unusual for me, therefore I need to sleep on the info I've read from this chapter (maybe will read it again).

Chapter 1 - Introduction

The first chapter of the book consists of general information about TOGAF certification: certification levels (this I already covered in the previous post), TOGAF certification principles (Openness, Fairness, Market Relevance, Learning Support, Quality, Best Practice).

Additionally, there is a lot of information about the exam. The exam consists of 40 questions and you have 60 minutes to go though all of them. Each question has only one right answer. To pass the OG0-091 test you should answer for at least 55% of all questions. It means that you should answer correctly for at least 22 questions out of 40. The exam cost is $320. The majority of the questions are about ADM phases.

So, this chapter was quite easy to read, because it doesn't contain any difficult information (but I have to remember the list of all topic areas). Test is passed on 100%. Looking forward for the second chapter.  


Have not written a lot since I found new job - new people, new environment, new business etc., plus I am a very lazy person :), but now I have decided to struggle with my inactivity and start a new challenge - take two exams for becoming a TOGAF certified member (about TOGAF certification you can read here ) . This should help me with my carrier (not sure about it to be honest :) ). So let's start.

TOGAF certification consists of two levels:
  • TOGAF Foundation (level 1)
  • TOGAF Certified (level 2)
The highest level is the TOGAF Certification. There are two ways to get this certification:
  • TOGAF Part 1 exam (OG0-091) +  TOGAF Part 2 exam (OG0-092)   
  • TOGAF 9 Combined Part 1 and 2 exam ((OG0-093 - for advanced people)
I am not an advanced person, therefore I am following by the first option. Start from TOGAF Part 1 exam. There are a lot of documents about this exam, so I just downloaded one preparation book. This book contains 13 chapters and I am going to read one chapter each day (max 2 days) and write about it in this blog - this will help me with exam preparation and additionally, help me to do something at all :)

"Let the Seventy-forth Hunger Games begin" - quotes from "Hunger games" book.